News & Announcements Archive

John Barth Loves Us: A Valentine to Fiction

Sunday, February 14 at 2 PM – 4 PM, George Peabody Library Join the Sheridan Libraries for a celebration of fiction, in conjunction with the exhibition “Lost & Found in the Funhouse: The John Barth Collection.” Readings by Rafael Alvarez, Madison Smartt Bell, Matt Porterfield, Rosalia Scalia, and Jason Tinney, followed by a roundtable discussion. […]

Writing Seminars Graduate and Faculty Member Receive 2015 Rubys Artist Grants

Writing Seminars graduate Courtney Sender (MFA 2012) and faculty member James Arthur are among the nine Baltimore-area artists selected to receive 2015 Rubys Artist Project Grants in the amount of up to $10,000. Established in 2013 by the Greater Baltimore Cultural Alliance with the aid of the Robert W. Deutsch Foundation, Rubys Artist Grants of […]

Joanne Cavanaugh Simpson Receives Arts Innovation Grant, Launches Francis Bacon Fellowship Program for Undergraduate Science Essayists

Writing Seminars Lecturer Joanne Cavanaugh Simpson (MA Writing Seminars 1997) has received a 2015 Arts Innovation Grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Cavanaugh Simpson will use the grant to support a seminar series, “Scientist Essayists: The Next Generation,” in which a cohort of undergraduate science majors will learn the techniques of the essay form. The four-part seminar […]

Richie Hofmann Publishes Debut Poetry Collection with Alice James Books

The Writing Seminars congratulates Richie Hofmann (MFA Writing Seminars 2014) on the publication of his debut poetry collection, Second Empire, by Alice James Books. Second Empire is the winner of 2014 Beatrice Hawley Award, given in past years to collections by Jean Valentine, Laura Kasischke, B.H. Fairchild, and Brian Turner. Of Second Empire, Mary Szybist […]

Poem by Dora Malech Chosen for The Best American Poetry 2015

The Writing Seminars congratulates faculty member Dora Malech, whose poem “Party Games” was selected by Sherman Alexie for inclusion in The Best American Poetry 2015. “Party Games” first appeared in Volume 7, Issue 4 of The Hopkins Review. The Best American Poetry series, published in annual installments since 1988, has been described by former U.S. […]

James Arthur Chosen as 2016 Fulbright Scholar

Writing Seminars faculty member James Arthur has received a U.S. Scholar Award from the U.S.-U.K. Fulbright Commission. From January through June of 2016, Arthur will be the Fulbright Distinguished Scholar in Creative Writing at Queen’s University Belfast’s Seamus Heaney Centre for Poetry. Arthur will teach two courses at the Seamus Heaney Centre while completing his […]

MFA Class of 2017 Selected

The faculty and staff of the Writing Seminars are pleased to welcome our incoming class of MFA students, who were chosen from a highly competitive pool of applicants. Fiction: Ralph Hubbell (Istanbul, Turkey) Kathleen Hull (Mundelein, IL) Isabella Martin (Shutesbury, MA) Mary Terrier (Madrid, Spain) Poetry: John Allen (Danville, KY) Dylan Carpenter (Glencoe, IL) Julia Friedrich […]

Andrew Motion Wins 2014 Ted Hughes Award

The Writing Seminars is delighted to share the news that Andrew Motion, soon to join the Department as a Homewood Professor of the Arts, has received the 2014 Ted Hughes Award for his radio performance Coming Home, first broadcast on BBC Radio 4. Based upon Motion’s recorded conversations with the last British soldiers to leave […]

Dora Malech Selected for Engaged Faculty and Community Fellows Program

Writing Seminars faculty member Dora Malech has been awarded an Engaged Faculty Fellowship by Johns Hopkins University’s Center for Social Concern. The Fellowship, which includes support for a graduate assistant, a $2,000 stipend, and formal training in the principles and practice of community-based learning, will allow Malech to design and implement a 2015-2016 Writing Seminars […]

Sir Andrew Motion joins The Writing Seminars

The Writing Seminars is happy to announce that Sir Andrew Motion will join the department as a Homewood Professor of the Arts in July 2015. Poet Laureate of the United Kingdom from 1999 to 2009, he was knighted in 2009 for his services to poetry. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature […]