News & Announcements Archive

Rachael Clifford, M.F.A. ‘ 18, Awarded Cave Canem Fellowship, Residency at the Mastheads, and Artist Award from Maryland State Arts Council

Rachael Clifford
The Writing Seminars is happy to announce that Rachael Clifford was awarded a Cave Canem Fellowship.  In addition, she was selected as a 2019 Writer-in-Residence at the Mastheads in Pittsfield, MA, and also received a 2019 Individual Artist Award from the Maryland State Arts Council. Cave Canem Founded by Toi Derricotte and Cornelius Eady in […]

Samuel Cheney, M.F.A. ’19, and Jalen Eutsey, M.F.A. ’18, Awarded Scholarships to the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, MA

Fine Arts Work Center
The Writing Seminars is happy to announce that Samuel Cheney and Jalen Eutsey received scholarships to attend the Summer Workshop Program at the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown. Jalen is one of the recipients of the Hatty Fitts Walker Scholarship. The Summer Workshop Program at the Fine Arts Work Center is designed to inspire students’ […]

Matt Morton, M.F.A. ’14, wins 2018 A. Poulin, Jr. Poetry Prize

Matt Morton
Congratulations to Writing Seminars graduate Matt Morton (MFA 2014) on winning the 2018 A. Poulin, Jr. Poetry Prize.  His manuscript will be published by BOA Editions. Matt Morton holds a BA from the University of Texas at Austin and an MFA from the Johns Hopkins University Writing Seminars. His poetry appears in AGNI, Gettysburg Review, Harvard Review, Tin House Online, […]

Michael Lavers, MFA ’10, Wins Tampa Review Prize

Michael Lavers
The University of Tampa Press is pleased to announce that poet Michael Lavers, of Provo, Utah, has won the seventeenth annual Tampa Review Prize for Poetry for his collection of poems, After Earth. In addition to a $2,000 check, the award includes hardback and paperback book publication in 2019 by the University of Tampa Press.

James Arthur and David Yezzi Win 2018 Catalyst Awards

Professors James Arthur and David Yezzi were among thirty-two early career faculty members who were selected to receive Johns Hopkins Catalyst Awards. These experts represent two dozen distinct fields, including otolaryngology, economics, civil engineering, mathematics, the writing seminars, and musicology.

Dora Malech Wins Baker Award

The Writing Seminars is happy to announce that Dora Malech is the 2018 Baker Artist Awardee in the Literary category. The Baker Artist Portfolios were created to support artists and promote Greater Baltimore as a strong creative community. The online portfolios are open to artists working in all disciplines who live and work in Baltimore […]